entree

L’Islam, it’s also our history

Pour cette référence, Tempora a également participé aux services suivants:
Communication | Conception | Expositions itinérantes | Gestion | Réalisation | Tempocase

ISLAM, IT’S ALSO OUR HISTORY! – Brussels, spring 2017

Above all else, this initiative was conceived as a civic project at a time of strained relations with Islam in Europe. With that in mind, this touring exhibition – which has won recognition as a major European cultural project – strives to ease understanding of the Other and the foundations of civilisation. Knowing that fear is the enemy of peaceful coexistence, Islam, it’s also our history! works to promote knowledge and understanding as they alone can bring people together.

The exhibition aims to raise visitors’ awareness of the strong links that have been forged between two civilisations, Islam and Europe, over the course of almost 12 centuries. While its content may be complex, its goal is simple: showing Europeans that Islam is part of their history, too.

Islam, it’s also our history! is structured around one key message: Muslim settlement in Europe is as old as Islam itself and goes through cycles of expansion and retraction. The exhibition highlights the shared spiritual and intellectual origins of Muslim and European civilisations (i.e. their Abrahamic heritage) and demonstrates that while relations between them have been conflicted over the centuries, the two civilisations have influenced and enriched one another. At the end of the day, Europe and Islam have a real shared history, with each stage of their journey together having both a light side (mutual understanding, artistic inspiration, reciprocal influences) and a dark side (conflicts, boundaries, integration problems).

The exhibit revolves around four periods and three legacies: the Arab legacy handed down by mediaeval Europe, the Ottoman legacy, the colonial legacy, and Europe and Muslims today.

The exhibition’s contemporary, accessible approach opens the door to a rich emotional and intellectual experience that marries museum artefacts with everyday objects, ancient art with contemporary works, multimedia displays with more conventional backdrops, music and scenographic installations.

Infos :

Client : Executive Agency Culture, Education et Audiovisual (EACEA)
Missions : Conception, Realisation, Management, Communication et Traveling exhibitions
Place : Espace Vanderborght, Rue de l’Ecuyer 50 in 1000 Brussels
Dates : 15 September 2017 - 28 January 2018
Languages : FR, NL, EN

TEMPOCASE

Are you interested to present a module of the exhibition “Islam, it’s also our history” at your institute? 

Please contact Isabelle Benoît (Responsable for international development) :

isabelle.benoit@tempora.be
+32 2 549 60 54

For more info about the TEMPOCASE

Pictures:

Brochure-EN 07.08 Brochure-EN 07.09 Brochure-EN 07.06 Brochure-EN 07.05 Brochure-EN 07.04 Brochure-EN 07.07 Brochure-EN 07.10 Brochure-EN 07.13 Brochure-EN 07.12 Brochure-EN 07.11

L’Islam, c’est aussi notre Histoire !

Pour cette référence, Tempora a également participé aux services suivants:
Non classé

L’ISLAM, C’EST AUSSI NOTRE HISTOIRE ! – Bruxelles, printemps 2017

Dans un contexte de relations tendues envers l’Islam en Europe, L’Islam, c’est aussi notre histoire ! est avant tout citoyenne. Retenue comme un des projets majeurs culturels européens, cette exposition, itinérante, s’attache à faciliter la compréhension de l’Autre et des fondements de sa civilisation. Dans une actualité où la peur est l’ennemi du vivre ensemble, celle-ci met en avant la connaissance et la compréhension qui seules permettent la rencontre.

L’exposition s’intéresse aux liens très forts entre les deux civilisations : l'Islam et l'Europe tels qu’ils se sont tissés depuis près de 12 siècles sur notre continent. Si le contenu est complexe, l'objectif est simple mais ambitieux : montrer aux Européens que l'Islam, c'est aussi leur histoire !

L’exposition se structure autour d’un message principal : la présence musulmane en Europe est aussi ancienne que l’Islam lui-même. Tout en rappelant que les civilisations européenne et musulmane sont bien issues d’un tronc spirituel et intellectuel commun (l’héritage abrahamique), l’exposition montre que leurs relations, pour conflictuelles qu’elles aient été, se sont influencées l’une l’autre et enrichies mutuellement. Il s’agit bien d’une histoire partagée, mêlant à chaque époque un versant lumineux (la rencontre, la création artistique, les influences réciproques) et un versant sombre (les conflits, la frontière, l’intégration difficile).

Le parcours s’articule en quatre temps et trois héritages, soit les traces visibles aujourd’hui de ce que cette rencontre a produit : l’héritage arabe, légué par l’Europe médiévale ; l’héritage ottoman ; l’héritage colonial, l’Europe et les musulmans aujourd’hui.

Résolument actuelle et tout public, la scénographie invite à une expérience intellectuelle et émotionnelle complète combinant objets de musée et du quotidien, œuvres d’art anciennes et contemporaines, multimédia, décors, musique et installations scénographiques.

Infos :

Commanditaire : Executive Agency Culture, Education et Audiovisual (EACEA) 
Missions : Conception, Réalisation, Gestion , Communication et Expositions itinérantes
Lieu : Espace Vanderborght, Rue de l'Ecuyer 50 à 1000 Bruxelles
Dates : 15 septembre 2017 - 28 janvier 2018
Langues : FR, NL, EN

TEMPOCASE:

Intéressé par la présentation d’un module de l’exposition L'Islam, C’est aussi notre histoire! au sein de votre institution?

Contactez Isabelle Benoît (Responsable du Développement international):
isabelle.benoit@tempora.be
+32 2 549 60 54

Pour plus d'infos sur le TEMPOCASE

Photos :